The word Yoga is derived from the Sanskrit root yuj meaning to bide, join, attach and yoke, to direct and concentrate one’s attention on, to use and apply. It also means union or communicon. It is the true union of our will with the will of god. ‘It thus means,’ says Mahadev Desiai in his introduction to the Gita according to Gandhi, ‘the yoking of all the powers of body, mind and soul to God; it means the disciplinining of the intellect, the mind, the emotions, the will, which that Yoga presupposes; it means a poise of the soul which enables one to look at life in all its aspects evently.’

Yoga is one of the six orthodox systems of Indian phlosophy. It was collated, co-ordinated and systematised by Patanjali in his classical work, the Yoga sutras, which consits of 185 terse aphorisms. In indian thought, everything is permeated by the Supreme Universal Sprit of which the individual human sprit is a part. The system of yoga is so called because it teaches the means by which the jivatma can be united to, or be in communion with the Paramatma, and so secure liberation.

One who follows the path of Yoga is a yogi or yogin.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

  1. Yama
    • Ahimsa
    • Satya
    • Asteya (non stealing)
    • Brahmacharya
    • Aparigraha (non coveting)
  2. Niyama
    • Saucha
    • Santosa
    • Tapas
    • Svadhyaya
    • Isvara pranidhans
  3. Asana
  4. Pranayama
  5. Pratyahara :- If a man’s reasons succumbs to the pull of his senses he is lost. On the other hand, if there is rhythmic control of breath, the senses instead of running after external objects of desire turn inwards, and man is set free from their tyranny. This is the fifth stage of yoga, namely pratyahara, where the senses are brought under control.
  6. Dharna
  7. Dhyana
  8. Samadhi

Aspirants Discipline

Qualities demanded from an aspirants Discipline, Faith, tenacity and perseverance to practice regularly without interruptions

  • Cleanliness
  • Bath
  • Food
  • Time